The Midnight Star (The Young Elites #3) by Marie Lu

“There was once a time when darkness shrouded the world, and the darkness had a queen.”

Marie Lu unites the Dagger Society and Rose Society with the conclusion of yet another great series in The Midnight Star.

I’m going to try keep this review short and brief. Adelina has finally gotten her revenge and she’s not planning on backing down for anyone. She has everything she’s ever wanted and she is setting her sights on conquering every country she can. The plot is well-written. It sets the pace from the first page and doesn’t let up until the very last page. Lu keeps you on the edge of your seat, unable to put this book down. The character development was AMAZING. I loved Adelina’s journey from The Young Elites until now, and I think she was redeemed at the end. I still disliked her though, and I think that was intentionally done. But I enjoyed Teren’s journey the most. I can finally understand the madness behind the mind. I think he is one of Lu’s best characters.

I found a few things that I could do without. For one, the constant reminder that Adelina’s whispers were driving her mad. It was driving me mad continuously reading about it. WE GET IT. Also, I thought all of the secondary characters were pushed aside. I wanted them to be more prominent as they all made this voyage together. I don’t feel like we got to know them long enough, care for them enough. I wish Lu would’ve taken more time on them.

The ending was bittersweet, but I think it was perfect; tied up neatly with a bow. The epilogue was short and sweet; letting us know where everyone stood in the end, but also leaving enough to the imagination.

Marie Lu has a home run with this series, which has made her an auto-buy author for me. If you loved young adult fantasy, dark themes, and a strong plot not driven by romance, the The Young Elites series is definitely for you. Happy reading!

Rating:

Leave a comment